Skip to content

Books

December 29, 2008

I received a few books for Christmas Lord of the Rings Trilogy plus The Hobbit box set, Solar Energy Projects for the Evil Genius, and Code Complete 2nd Edition. I have already read the Lord of the Rings Trilogy and The Hobbit so they will have to wait.

I am trying to start a hobby of building different mechanical things and I enjoy do-it-yourself projects so the Solar Energy book goes well with my 123 Robotics Experiments for the Evil Genius.

The main reason for this post is obviously about Code Complete. This is the second edition of the book written by Steve McConnell who is the CEO and Chief Software Engineer at Construx Software. The book is a guide to software construction and describes techniques and methods on how to develop good code. The primary focus is on the software construction which includes detailed design, construction planning, integration, integration testing, unit testing , and the most important and most covered coding and debugging.

I am only in the second chapter and will most likely take a good bit of time to finish since I am also reading Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (all five stories, awesome so far) and skimming the solar energy book.

After Code Complete I plan to go through Design Patterns: Element of Reusable Object-Oriented Software. I currently have this book at work and skim through it occasionally but not enough to absorb any information.

I will give reports on Code Complete throughout the read.

From → books

4 Comments
  1. Mark Robinson permalink

    So, will you be doing a book review in the near future ?

  2. well it depends on your definition of the near future. I am going to try and get it done but I most likely won’t finish it till the summer. Like I said I will have updates throughout the process on interesting parts.

  3. I really hope that you enjoy Solar Energy Projects for the Evil Genius! 🙂

  4. thanks, I am hoping to combine the solar projects with the robot projects. that would be fun.

Leave a Reply

